Implanon vs. Nexplanon

What are they?

implanon The Nexplanon female long term contraceptive implant for long acting reversible contraception

In the UK, Nexplanon is the main contraceptive implant currently in use. Implants inserted before October 2010 were called Implanon. Since October 2010, insertion of Implanon has decreased as stocks are used up, and Nexplanon has become the most commonly used implant.

Both types of implant work in the same way, but the key difference is Nexplanon is designed to reduce the risk of insertion errors and is visible on an X-ray or CT (computerized tomography) scan. There is no need for existing Implanon users to have their implant removed and replaced by Nexplanon ahead of its usual replacement time.

Nexplanon and Implanon are small, thin, flexible tube about 4cm long. It is implanted under the skin of your upper arm by a doctor or nurse. A local anesthetic is used to numb the area. The small wound made in your arm is closed with a dressing and does not need stitches and it lasts for three years.

My Experience

Personally, I had my first Implanon inserted in 2007 and have had another one in 2010 before they were discontinued and my third was still Implanon as my clinic was still using up their stock of Implanon implants. After the initial insertion, I did have some serious bruising and pain at the insertion point but that died down after a week or so and vanished completely in around 2 weeks.

For the first 3 months, I had slightly heavier periods than I had before which were heavy anyway – I had the implant to control my bleeding rather than as a contraceptive – but stopped completely after this. I did suffer from some minor side effects for this first year including headaches, weight gain (around a stone in 3 months) and mood swings although these leveled out after this and I haven’t had any major problems since.

As my current implant is due to be taken out in March 2018 and to be subsequently replaced with Nexplanon, I began looking up information and reviews online from huge numbers of women from all over the world, to see what their experiences were before I make the change from Implanon to Nexplanon. What I discovered was shocking!

Reviews

Implanon

implanon removal scar.jpg

(average Implanon removal scar)

One of the main reasons Implanon was discontinued was due to the fact that hundreds of women fell pregnant while using this contraceptive. After review, it was found that the Implanon wasn’t doing its job and discontinued. However, 1 in 100 women a year fall pregnant on this contraceptive, so while infrequently it isn’t impossible like some women are lead to believe.

In an article published by the BBC in January 2011 states, “Nearly 600 women have become pregnant despite using a popular contraceptive implant”. When we do the sums, it works out for these 600 women who did fall pregnant in that timeframe over 60,000 women had the Implanon implant. That works out to a meager 1%.

Channel 4 also reported “Family planning clinics in England report contraceptive implants are soaring in popularity from 16,000 women in 2005 to nearly 82,000 in 2010 (the year Implanon was discontinued). It is particularly popular amongst teenagers with 10 percent of 16-19-year-olds saying they prefer an implant largely because they do not have to remember to take a pill.”

While these news sites make Implanon out to be a bad choice of contraceptive, this fails to include these vital statistics which help put the number of unwanted pregnancies into context. The BBC also reports that over 1,600 women reported having adverse side effects to the Implanon implants.

These supposed “adverse side effects” are some of the most common women reported during their time on Implanon. When we look at the Implanon clinical trials we see even the most adverse side effect in 11% of the women used in the trail. However, because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice.

In the clinical trials, 942 women were evaluated for safety, change in menstrual bleeding patterns (irregular menses) was the most common adverse reaction causing discontinuation of Implanon (11.1% of women).

Adverse reactions that resulted in a rate of discontinuation of ≥ 1% are shown below:

Bleeding Irregularities                                      11.1%
Emotional Lability                                      2.3%
Weight Increase                                      2.3%
Headaches                                      1.6%
Acne                                      1.3%
Depression                                      1.0%

The number of women reporting unwanted pregnancies and adverse side effects is not proportionate to the total number of women using Implanon at the time the article was written.

See more on Implanon side effects here.

Here are some reviews on the Implanon implant from various forums including everydayhealth.com

I started using the Implanon in 2012. It was recommended by my doctor because I was very irregular and sometimes getting my period was so painful that I couldn’t do anything but lay in bed. I am about to get my third one. I love it. I guess as some say I have been one of the lucky ones. I haven’t had a period in almost 6yrs, other than a small amount of spotting when they took out the old one and put in a new one. but it only lasted a day and was very very light. I really haven’t experienced any of the side effects that are possible. My weight stayed pretty much the same and didn’t notice being any moodier than normal, but then again, I suffer from depression and anxiety anyways. I love it and have recommended it to others.” – 5* Review

I was very hesitant to get the Implanon after reading so many negative reviews online. I went ahead and got the implant and I am SO glad I did. In the beginning, I had the typical mood changes, temporarily increased appetite and 2 weeks after the insertion I had a light period that lasted about a week. After that, I haven’t had any issues other than a couple days of light spotting and a few zits here and there, but let’s be honest, you are always going to have some type of reaction to birth control so I’ll take this!!! Plus, I don’t have a period! YAY! The insertion was painless and fast. I love easy birth control and this gizmo is perfect for someone like me. :)” – 5* Review

I got the implant in November (2016). It is a very very reliable birth control. It does have its downsides. But here is what I have to say. If you get the implant, you have to be patient with it. I get every woman’s body reacts differently. I bleed every day for about 8-9 months. It was light, but still a hassle. I had mood swings and was definitely more emotional. It took my body about a year to get used to it. And I’m so happy I stuck around it with!! I only get 4-5 days light period maybe every other month. Barely any cramps and Migraines! Never gained weight, and lost my emotional mood swings. It takes your body time to get used to it. But If the implant is making your life hell, then I would take it out. But if it does not cause a lot of issues I would suggest you keep it and wait it out! Trust me!” – 3* Review

Even Sasha Barrie writing for the Telegraph documents her experience of the Implanon implant, stating “ I won’t pretend it didn’t feel a little uncomfortable, to begin with, but that only lasted a day or so with a little bruising and tenderness. And despite being able to see the slightly raised form of the implant under my skin, it’s pretty invisible to the naked eye. […] With the blessing of no periods (something that happens for around 20 percent of implant users) and no unpleasant surprise side-effects, I was offering my arm up for a feel to any interested parties whenever the talk of contraception reared its head.

At the same time, I was acting as a bit of a one-woman self-promotion machine for Implanon as it was then called. (Implanon was replaced by Nexplanon in December 2010, which is said to be easier to insert).

People were curious. I’m not sure how many decided to consider it as an option as a result of my enthusiasm, but as an early adopter people were intrigued as most hadn’t encountered it before. My partner, working in healthcare himself, was interested not only on a personal level but also a professional one.

The three years passed in a flash and without incident, GP appointments or checks, and before I knew it the date of expiry for the implant was upon me. Another trip back to Margaret Pyke, more local anesthetic, a further cut and with a little push out it came.

Nexplanon

nexplanon removal scar

(A Facebook User’s Nexplanon horror removal)

Nexplanon on the hand is listed as having far more “common” side effects, not limited to:

  • breast tenderness or pain,
  • abdominal pain,
  • back pain,
  • changes in appetite,
  • nausea,
  • acne,
  • weakness,
  • headache,
  • depression,
  • vaginal infection or inflammation,
  • vaginal discharge,
  • sore throat,
  • flu symptoms,
  • injection site pain,
  • dizziness,
  • ectopic pregnancies,
  • liver disease,
  • weight gain,
  • nervousness, and
  • fluid retention

In forums and news sites around the world, far more women are reported serious side effects and subsequent removal of Nexplanon compared to Implanon.

An article in the Mirror detailed the account of Amanda Vinson who suffered extreme side effects of the Nexplanon implant which are becoming increasingly commonplace today.

Almost immediately after having the contraception device fitted, Amanda Vinson endured “ridiculous” headaches, numbed arms, lost vision and her hair fell out. Despite being a “fun, outgoing” person, she also battled with depression and anxiety for two years since having the Nexplanon implant fitted. Then when she tried to get ‘the poison’ out of her system, docs struggled to find the ‘lost’ implant in her arm.

Amanda’s isn’t the only story to come to light in recent years, on drugs.com user wyldflwr reports “I got the implant December 2016, the insertion went perfectly fine and I have yet to experience any problems with it. I also never had a period again after I started Nexplanon which is the only positive thing I can say about this birth control. It’s made my skin break out so much worse and has made me start to get blemishes on my back and shoulders, but worst of all I have noticed a giant spike in anxiety and depression, to the point of suicidal thoughts and almost a suicide attempt. I am undiagnosed and always had social anxiety, but it got remarkably unbearable after the insertion, I plan on getting it out this year. I’ve also lost 16 lbs & am now medically underweight. I would not recommend if you have history with anxiety or depression

An anonymous user also states “I’ve tried my fair share of birth control options, the pill, NuvaRing, Mariana, and now Nexplanon. Of all the contraceptives, Nexplanon is the absolute worst. I’m getting it removed after 9 months. I was expecting the irregular periods (that was three 10 day long periods in two months regularly, bleeding for 42 days straight the first menstrual cycle after the insertion) the things that made this birth control intolerable were the mood swings since having it, I’m always either mad or depressed never happy, I’m always tired and I’ve gained 25lbs even though I’ve been working out and eating healthy. Other birth controls made me lose weight this one is awful, the only good things are I didn’t get pregnant, I don’t have to remember to take it, and it’s not painful

Another anonymous user also reported “First of all, not all doctors are trained in how to properly insert Nexplanon. The wrong doctor may embed it too deeply, causing a 20-30 minute removal. Make sure the doctor has done is at least 20-30 times. The only pro of this BC is that its the most effective BC out there and you don’t have to consciously think about it. Nexaplanon made gain weight, bleed for a month at a time, cost me hundreds of dollars in tampons & pads, caused a yeast infection and completely changed my personality (caused depression and horrible anger spells), it affected my relationships with everyone I know. Just had it removed last week, emotionally I feel like myself again, however horrible cramps & morning sickness have been present.

However, some have had good experiences with Nexplanon, User Yanne states “The insertion was a breeze but the two weeks following it I was depressed and had an ongoing headache. I was on my period forever and it seemed like having sex caused me to have my period. I talked to my doctor about my continuous period and she prescribed me medroxyprogesterone. Its a pill that you take for 21days to stop the bleeding, it worked until a few days after I stopped the medication and my period came back. I’m on my third bottle now. My only issue is the periods but I doubt I’ll take it out of my arm. I don’t know if the weight has anything to do it, I’m 5’6 and 118 pounds.. everyone’s body is different. I didn’t get acne or weight loss/gain.

And user Shai1009 “I loved this birth control, I had it the full 3 yrs. I am 22. The inserting process was really quick and painless and it healed quickly. At first, I was a little moody but I reminded myself it was the birth control and I would just go about my day. The only complaint is that being a server/ bartender and constantly having my harms up did become a little uncomfortable after a few minutes but nothing major nor painful. As far as my weight I gained some (actually very little) but I don’t think it was the birth control itself and I didn’t have any abnormal acne. The removal was uncomfortable it did take 20 mins due to scar tissue build-up. I’ve had it out for about 3 days now and feel absolutely fine.”

Verdict

While it seems every woman’s experience with either Implanon or Nexplanon is subjective depending on their own physiology, medical conditions and lifestyle the reviews speak for themselves. Since its introduction in 1999 and discontinuation in 2010 Implanon has earned an average 3.8 out 5* rating while Nexplanon which has only been in circulation for 7 years only has an average 2.5 out 5* rating.

It is also clear to see after days of sifting through forums and reviews pages that women new to the implant rating Nexplanon better than those women that have transferred from Implanon to Nexplanon.

As someone who is currently on Implanon, I won’t be switching to Nexplanon and will find an alternative method of contraception for the near future.

If you have any experience with either Implanon or Nexplanon, good or bad, let me know in the comments below.

Leave a comment