November Wrap Up

November was a poor reading month for me as I was ill a lot and moving house so it was stressful. I managed to complete three books but now the race is on to finish all the books I wanted to read this year in less than a month.

The Second Short Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer – In another irresistible combination of danger, mystery and romance, Stephenie Meyer tells the devastating story of Bree and the newborn army as they prepare to close in on Bella Swan and the Cullens, following their encounter to its unforgettable conclusion.

Read More

November Book Bingo Wrap Up

November wasn’t a great reading month for me so I am having to rush through December to get all the books I wanted to read this year finished.

Published in November –

Brown cover –

Set during a holiday –

There’s a dramatic dinner –

Title begins with N – Of Neptune by Anna Banks

Indigenous author –

Book includes a recipe – Of Triton by Anna Banks

Author you’re thankful for – Madly Deeply by Alan Rickman

Characters travel by plane –

Transgender protagonist –

Generational story –

Author has written adult and YA – Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

Free space – Friends Like These by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Title begins with Q or Z –

Recommended by a librarian –

Featured on BookishFirst –

Book you bought second hand – The Second Short Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer

Home is built or restored –

Character is a writer –

Author or character has your name –

Includes football –

Character is adopted –

Historical romance –

Food on the cover –

Character with a beard on the cover –

November Bookopoly Wrap Up

November wasn’t a great reading month for me meaning there is a lot of pressure to finish of some key books in December.


Roll 1 (2 + 5 = 7) – Random – The Second Short Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer
Roll 2 (5 + 2 = 7) – Chance –
Roll 3 (3 + 6 = 9) – Favourite Trope –
Roll 4 (4 + 5 = 9) – Autumn –
Roll 5 (1 + 1 = 2) – Features a Mystery – Friends Like These by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez
Roll 6 (6 + 6 = 12) – Most Recent Purchase – Madly Deeply by Alan Rickman
Roll 7 (5 + 1 = 6) – TBR Vet – Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer
Roll 8 (2 + 4 = 6) – Dice Roll Roulette – Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
Roll 9 (4 + 4 = 8) – Favourite Setting –
Roll 10 (5 + 3 = 8) – Features a Romance – Of Triton by Anna Banks
Roll 11 (2 + 5 = 7) – Community Shelf – Of Neptune by Anna Banks
Roll 12 (6 + 2 = 8) – Lowest Rated –
Roll 13 (4 + 1 = 5) – People – The Q by Amy Tintera

Iron Hearts & Dragon Magic (Of Fire & Fae Book 2) by Day Leitao Spotlight

I was extremely lucky to get on this blog tour since these books have been on my TBR since book 1 was announced. My review for both books in this duology will be up in the next week so stay tuned for them.

Book Info:

Iron Hearts and Dragon Magic (Of Fire & Fae #2) by Day Leitao

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Romance

Publishing Date: November 30, 2022

Synopsis:

Romance, magic, mystery—and dragons!

Read More

The Second Short Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer (Twilight Book 3.5)

Book Review

Title: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer (Twilight Book 3.5)

Genre: Paranormal, Contemporary

Rating: 3 Stars

After reading Eclipse I was surprised to see how different Bree was between the movie and book. In the book, she is much more of a newborn vampire struggling to control herself around Bella and much more vocal than her movie counterpart and the Cullens make less of an effort to protect her in the book understanding that the Volturi have a right to intervene so I was intrigued to see what this book was going to do for the character. We learn that Bree is only three months old and has a great amount of control for a newborn as she is befriended by another vampire, Diego who is almost a year old. Both of them seem unaware of other vampires in general, they currently believe that there must be other vampires out there but not many which is incorrect and they also believe that they will burn in the sun which is also incorrect. Due to this they stay hidden during the day and only come out at night but Bree and Diego are both very smart and soon learn that Riley and the mysterious “she” are lying to them but they don’t know why and they are going to figure it out. Since Bree is shown to have great control here ignoring the scent of blood even when it is right in front of her I don’t understand her behaviour in Eclipse where she seems very out of control but hopefully that will be explained later on.

Read More

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer (Twilight Book 3)

Book Review

Title: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer (Twilight Book 3)

Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal, Romance

Rating: 3.5 Stars

The opening to Eclipse reminded me of how much I hated Edward as a character and why he screams red flag at me every time he appears. From the very first page seeing Bella enamoured with him made my blood boil especially when he is repeatedly trying to coerce and manipulating Bella into staying away from Jacob even though Jacob is probably the reason Bella is as sane as she is right now and he knows this. He constantly preaches to Bella that Jacob is dangerous when I would say Edward is more dangerous than Jacob because he constantly looks human even when doing evil things. He even goes as far as manipulating Charlie into letting him and Bella go visit her mother even when she doesn’t really want to in order to get her away from Jacob. Even when she decides to sneak out and go to La Push, he uses Alice’s gift against her and vandalizes her car to physically prevent her leaving the house and what makes it worse is Bella recognises this manipulative behaviour and brushes it off because “that’s just the way he is” and I seriously want her to grow a brain. I am scared of reading Midnight Sun because it is told from Edward’s perspective but at least because of his ability to read minds we might see more of other characters that don’t get a lot of page time in the main series.

Read More

Friends Like These by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez (Major Spoilers Ahead!)

Book Review

Title: Friends Like These by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery

Synopsis:

Twisted secrets that will have readers guessing with every flip of the page. Perfect for fans of GONE GIRL and Karen M. McManus.

Tegan Sheffield’s annual end-of-summer beach party is the only way to start their senior year. At least that’s what Jake Healy tells his girlfriend Jessica Sanchez.

But when a video prank from the party goes viral and a body is discovered at the beach, Jake and Jessica find themselves at the centre of a national media storm and a police investigation.

It’s a race to uncover the truth before the killer strikes again.

Content Warning: Toxic friendships, sexual assault, rape, mentions of various types of abuse

Read More

October Reviews

I ended up reading something like 17 books in October which really surprised me and I am hoping it continues into the New Year.

Human Remains by Peter Milligan 4.5 Stars – Western graphic novels don’t tend to work for me but I read one last month and it was good despite being a little confusing in places so I was hopeful for Human Remains. The opening to Human Remains was interesting as we are introduced to an Earth which has been invaded by creatures that kill people when they display emotions but it only does it in public places meaning they are safe within their homes. We see how this start when we meet our protagonists, Dax and Bisa as they are getting married and the creature invades but they survive. We also learn that the creature whatever it is ignores people under the age of 5 so children are safe from it but everyone else has had to learn to reign in all their emotions to the point where some people just can’t contain it any longer and willingly accept death in order to express themselves.

Read More

October Wrap Up

October was a great reading month for me after a few slumpy months and I am hoping for this to continue until the end of the year.

Human Remains by Peter Milligan – Dax and Bisa love each other. But in this new and terrifying world, love is dangerous. Feeling anything is dangerous. Earth has a new and terrible invader—monsters that deprive us of the very feelings that make us human. A shocking tale of pent-up emotions, perilously loud sex, and forced composure in the face of unspeakable horror…from one of the most celebrated writers in comics, Peter Milligan (X-Force, Enigma, Shade, the Changing Man, Hellblazer) and breakout horror artist Sally Cantirino (I Walk With Monsters, The Final Girls).

Read More