Rewind by Keisha E. Pearson

Book Review41HmSyDY1pL

Title: Rewind

Author: Keisha E. Pearson

Genre: Contemporary/Romance/Comedy

Rating: *****

Review: The opening chapter to Rewind was good we meet Angelique Collins an famous actress who has split from her famous football star husband Duncan 5 years ago and is trying to move on with her life as she heads for a vacation and its at the airport she runs into several people she knew in her younger years. I found the writing style in this novel simple and very easy to read which made the pages fly by so fast.

As we approach the 1/4 mark in the novel Angel is on her holiday in Hawaii where she runs into her old friend Keith who asks her out on a date and the last thing she expected when he turns up is for her ex-husband to also be there. I love how fluid Angel was her awkwardness and anger at her ex-husband’s presence she genuine and you sympathize with her. I loved the light contemporary feel of this novel while laced with side-splitting humour at time which made it a really easy read for me as someone who hardly ever reads contemporary romance novels. We learn that both Keith and David will be fighting for Angel’s affection and she is torn about which man she would have a better chance with. As we cross the 1/4 mark in the novel, Angel finds herself torn between the man that knows her soul and the man that can offer her a new start and though I don’t like love triangles I found this one to be believable and quite enjoyable as the dynamics between the characters were brilliant.

As we approach the half way mark in the novel we watch David and Angel comes to terms with their previous relationship and move on with their lives and giving the information revealed this scene was quite heart-breaking. After returning home we see Angel isn’t completely happy with her life and she struggles to understand whether her wanting a relationship is because she wants one or because she doesn’t want to be alone. She also contemplates her relationship with David a lot as she tries to understanding whether she has truly forgiven him for what happened between them. I also really enjoyed the introduction of Angel’s parents; their are a great couple that understand and support one another but they also add a huge amount of comedy after one or two slightly depressing scenes. As we cross into the second half of the novel Pearson drops one hell of a plot twist on us and I swear I sat there for 20 minutes trying to process what I had just read. When I came out of my plot twist coma I instantly flew through the next 20 pages to see what would happen next and where the characters of this novel would end up.

As we approach the 3/4 mark in the novel we see David and Angel’s lives reconnect once more especially after the bomb the author dropped on us and their past seems to be forgotten but I am sceptical as to whether this blissful haze will last. As Angel’s life progresses she and David are getting along well as they are dating and practically living together but she keeps him at arm’s length at all time and I believe she harbours some fear towards him almost as if she is expected things to go bad all over again. One thing I admire about this novel is the way religion is used. Angel and David are both religious but in a demure way where the characters say grace etc. but it isn’t overwhelming or forced on the reader. The final pages of this novel were divine and wrapped up the storyline and the character’s lives perfectly as if everything had come full circle.

Overall, I loved Rewind and read the whole novel in a couple of hours. I highly recommend this book to all contemporary romance fans and for anyone looking to break into this genre. I loved Pearson relaxed and easy to read writing style and the characters literally were brought to life and I connected with so many of them. I was sad and over joyed to read the last page and it was just beautiful and it made me cry for all the right reasons. This novel highly deserved its rating.

This book was sent to me for review consideration by the author

Buy it here:

Kindle Edition: amazon.co.uk    amazon.com

Leave a Reply

