Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven

Book Review51WL2aB0OeL

Title: Emerge: The Edge

Author: Melissa A. Craven

Genre: YA/Fantasy/Romance

Rating: *****

Review: The opening to Emerge: The Edge was great we once again get to read more about Aiden and Allie, after reading the first book I was super excited to read more from these characters and this world. We meet Aiden after a car accident and heading back to school, Aiden feels isolated by the power he holds as he is possible the most powerful immortal in centuries. And then we have Allie who is travelling with her parents in New Zealand and because she moves around a lot she has very few friends and feels very similar to Aiden.

As we approach the 1/4 mark in the novel I was loving the dual perspectives because it allowed us the reader to connect far better with Aiden and Allie. I also like the fact this book is set before Aiden and Allie have met so we can get some real insight into what their lives were like before they found one another. We see Aiden’s true musical passion shining through as this is his escape from the pressure of his life, Allie on the other day uses her art to express herself and escape and I love how Craven thought their hobbies through so well and they seem to merge so well with the characters’ personalities. I also liked seeing Allie’s relationship develop with Gavin as in the first book we only see the breakup and the aftermath but not the relationship itself which was really cute as it adds more to Allie’s relationship with Aiden later on.

As we approach the half way mark in the novel we see Aiden struggle with his isolation and gifts and we also see what effect his gifts can have on mortals. I was disappointed that the people Aiden calls his friends can turn so easily against him and blame him for the stupidity of others and I felt really sorry for him but I know he will pull through it later on so wasn’t too down-trodden. I loved watching Allie discover herself with Gavin and learn what it is like to be loved although I did dislike the fact I already know this relationship is going to end. As we cross into the second half of the novel I felt so sorry for Aiden and how he never got to live out his learn of learning music in Germany with his friend Wendy because he really wants to be free and I want him to be free but I also love his story arc with Allie. This literally tears me up as a reader to see all these conflicts internal and external for the characters.

As we approach the 3/4 mark in the novel I loved Naeemah and Aiden’s relationship and how he feels even when he is at his lowest he can lean on her and have someone to confide in. We are also introduced to a new perspective here and its Lily’s; Allie’s adopted mom. I also loved how this novel overlaps with the first and we see the events at the beginning of Awakening in a different more heart-breaking light than it was the first time around and the reasoning behind the decisions that were made. We also see the parallel between Aiden and Allie as they both struggle to control their gifts and lead normal teenage lives which we can all relate to in some respect. I also adored Craven’s writing style it is so easy to get into and really enjoy without being info-dumpy or overbearing.

As we enter the final section of the novel we see the events of the first book concerning Allie and Aiden from a unique perspective we didn’t see in Awakening which I really enjoyed. We also see the reasoning behind Aiden strange behavior early on in Awakening which was great as some of his decisions left me quite confused at times and this really cleared it up. This novel leads right up to just before Allie’s awakening which tied in perfectly with the first book and the epilogue gives us some cool hints as to what is going to happen in Emerge: The Judgement which I can’t wait to read.

Overall, I really love this novel and how it fleshed out the first book even more than it was. I highly recommend reading this series and I can’t wait to get my hand on the second book as soon as possible.

This book was sent to me for review consideration by the author

Buy it here:

Paperback: amazon.co.uk    amazon.com

Kindle Edition: amazon.co.uk    amazon.com 

Also see: Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven

Leave a Reply

