BoliviaKnight by Felicia Bridges

Book Review51XEg3Bfp-L

Title: BoliviaKnight

Author: Felicia Bridges

Genre: YA/Contemporary/Romance

Rating: DNF

Review: The opening to BoliviaKnight was good we meet Peter a young boy living in Santa Cruz who overheard a possible murder taking place, he seeks advice from his father on what he should and faith plays a big part in it. The International Mission Force website that is mentioned allows people to connect online with other missionaries so I have a feeling faith and religion are going to play a massive part in this novel which I wasn’t thrilled about. As I haven’t read the first book in this series I was going into it a little blind and the opening to this novel was good but it didn’t draw me in as much as I was expecting it to. We also meet Esperanza who seems to be a slave or servant for Gerardo in order to pay for her mother’s medicine and these two stories lines intertwine. After Peter and his father report the supposed shooting they are confronted by the gang who committed the crime and this scene was just totally unbelievable. If you were confronted by a deadly gang in real life very few people would actually stand up to or threaten them as it would be the same as signed your own death warrant so this scene was just unrealistic for me. Also the ideas of faith and the divergence from faith are big theme that I just didn’t like.

As we approach the 1/4 mark in the novel both Kasey; Peter’s friend and Esperanza end up in the same hospital for different reasons and Peter’s faith and/or belief in God is being tested to its limit with the decisions about his life that are currently being made for him. I can say as we cross the 1/4 mark in the novel is that I’m not feeling any attachment towards the character or their situation and I have absolutely no idea what the flashback scenes are there for. So far I really didn’t like this book the writing style didn’t appeal to me, the characters were bland and generic and I felt nothing towards them. The plot seems very faith and religion based which I honestly despise in YA novels so at 25% in DNF’d this novel as I just could get into it at all. I may go back and read the first book then attempt to read this one again but right now there is now way I am going to be able to finish it.

This book was sent to me for review consideration by YA Bound Blog Tours

Buy it here:

Paperback: amazon.co.uk

Kindle Edition: amazon.co.uk

4 comments

  1. TeacherofYA · April 4

    So it’s like a Christian-themed novel!

    Like

    • novellover97 · April 5

      not just christian themed I can deal with those but it is literally shoving faith and God down your throat every page and I just couldn’t deal with it. Every problem that came up was like oh if you pray it will get better there’s no need to confront your problems and it was just so unrealistic that it bordered on insanity

      Liked by 1 person

      • TeacherofYA · April 5

        Ahh, I gotcha. I guess there’s a market for books like that? Maybe? 🤔🤷‍♀️

        Like

      • novellover97 · April 5

        must be for it to be a series but i didn’t like it at all

        Like

Leave a Reply

