The Bronze Key by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

Book Review51wj4smghl-_sx319_bo1204203200_

Title: The Bronze Key

Author: Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

Genre: MG/ Fantasy/Action

Rating: *****

Review: After reading the first two books in this series I was really excited to see what sort of trouble Call would get into this time. And after the dramatic ending of the Copper Gauntlet I just could not wait to get my hands on The Bronze Key. The opening chapter was good picking up a few months after The Copper Gauntlet ending with Aaron and Call relaxing over the summer between their Copper and Bronze years at the Magisterium and they are heading to a ceremony to honor them for “destroying” the Enemy. I love Call as a characters and how the whole misfit group interacts as a whole and from the offset we have an absolutely major sense of foreboding.

All I can say is Black & Clare know how to write a riveting book, in the first fifty pages alone we have had magic, attempted assassinations, a murder and chaos ensues. It is absolutely stunning. Call and the gang are faced with a whole new level of trouble, deadly trouble that could spell the end of them all completely.

This book is incredibly fast paced, everything happens quickly, but all the loose ends are tied together beautifully. This book is incredibly fast paced. Very, very fast paced. I loved the fact that we still received some backstory, character development and heaps of twists and turns in such a short book. There was no stopping, hardly any time to take a breath. You were pulled into this story from the beginning and you were not let go until the very end. Seriously. This book took me less than a day to read. I started it one night and finished it by lunchtime the very next day.

By the halfway point in the novel I was completely enthralled again by the characters, the world and of course, the magic system. While again it is very reminiscent of the Harry Potter series in its feel everything is so drastically different especially the magic system which I actually found slightly more interesting that the Harry Potter one.
As the group try to unravel who the spy within the Magisterium is and keep themselves alive their friendship bonds are tested to their limit. Call and Aaron also being to learn more about themselves and the kind of magic they can control.

Though, I will admit, it is a little short. Very short. For a book that I was so excited to read, it was extremely disappointing that it was only 249 pages. Yes, this meant that I managed to read it quite fast. Yes, it got straight to the point. But… I really wanted to spend more time in this beautiful and frightening world that both Holly Black and Cassandra Clare created. I wanted to see more of Tamara and Aaron, and even more of Jasper. There were hardly any moments with Rufus, their mentor, which was also very disappointing.
If the authors could have done anything differently, I think that they could have written this book a little longer. Then, perhaps we could have spent more time with these characters and learnt more about the world that this story is set in.

The ending chapters of this book were shocking to the point I had to stop reading. I was not expecting what Black & Clare came out with and I can’t wait to see what is in store for us with the 4th book in this series.

I was surprised, I was amazed, I was devastated. My emotions were seriously all over the place with this book. I laughed in certain places, and I may have cried. Oh, who am I kidding? I totally cried.

This review was done in collaboration with The Portrait Ezine

Buy it here:

Paperback/Hardcover: amazon.co.uk      amazon.com

Kindle Edition: amazon.co.uk       amazon.com

Also see: The Iron Trail by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

4 comments

  1. TeacherofYA · December 8

    I’ve never even heard of this book! I’ll have to check it out! Thx!

    Like

    • novellover97 · December 8

      It’s an amazing series and despite people saying its a rip off of Harry Potter it isn’t apart from the school of magic setting it is completely different.

      Liked by 1 person

      • TeacherofYA · December 9

        I added it to my Wishlist…my covers are completely different from yours though. I went to your link and the book said not available, so I searched the title and found it with a diff look altogether! I almost thought it was a diff book!
        I wonder why I haven’t heard of it before!

        Like

      • novellover97 · December 9

        its fairly new and got a lot of mixed hype so some people have been avoiding it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

