Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Book Review518agt5yvsl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Title: Cursed

Author: Jennifer L Armentrout

Genre: Paranormal/YA/Romance

Rating: ***

Review: I enjoyed this one.  It is very character driven, has an engaging plot that is a little bit twisty and you are never quite sure what direction it will sprout off in.  The main character Ember (love that name, it’s so distinctive) died two years ago but was brought back to life by her gifted sister Olivia.  Unfortunately since then, she has a touch of death and anything she touches with her bare hands dies within seconds.

It is easy to feel empathy for Ember and to admire her in her struggle to parent her 5-year-old sister.  Her feisty ways, her impulsiveness and her self doubts all combine to make her an interesting and well-developed character.  Her sister Olivia though I believed less in.  Ember thought she was perfection; I was more inclined to think she was spoilt and very quick to forget about her sister when their circumstances changed.  She slipped in to the background of the book very quickly and I didn’t really believe that part.

The writing really impressed me though.  Jennifer L Armentrout knows how to stage a setting, her descriptions of the locations were great.  And she also did a great job of drawing out the chemistry between Ember and Hayden.  Their romance thankfully isn’t insta-love but instead it steadily builds momentum and even though I was never 100% sure if I trusted Hayden, I wanted them to find a way to make their unique relationship work.

The characters and the romance and the interesting world-building were all high points for me.  However I did find there were a few disappointing clichés (absent parents, a family set up that felt a little bit like Twilight, and a girl walking about in the woods alone at night despite knowing someone is trying to kill her) which irked me a little. I did like though that Ember didn’t get all fluffy headed by her feelings for Hayden, she kept her guard up and maintained what were reasonable suspicions.

The pace of the book makes this a quick read and while I did guess the ending which was somewhat predictable, I did find that I was second guessing myself a lot as I was reading and I appreciated that.

Overall this was a fun read and I’m glad it’s one I got the chance to experience.  I’m still not in that camp of readers that worship JLA but I did get flashes every now and again in this book as to why so many do.

Buy it here:

Paperback/Hardcover: amazon.co.uk

Kindle Edition: amazon.co.uk

4 comments

  1. TeacherofYA · September 16, 2016

    I’ve had my eye on this one for awhile…now I know to grab it!!
    Thanks for the review!

    Like

    • novellover97 · September 16, 2016

      No problem it was the first JLA book I read and after reading it I think I am really to brave the Lux series

      Liked by 1 person

      • TeacherofYA · September 17, 2016

        I’ve wanted to read the Lux series because it involved aliens…and I like that premise. I think it’s time I picked it up!

        Like

      • novellover97 · September 17, 2016

        Lol same here! I have been putting it off forever.

        Like

Leave a Reply

