Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

Book Review51m7mmz7y-l-_sx314_bo1204203200_

Title: Through the Ever Night

Author: Veronica Rossi

Genre: Fantasy/Romance/YA

Rating: ****

Review: I make it no secret to anyone with ears and eyes and the capability to somehow interpret my often crazy and incoherent gushing that I am in love with Under the Never Sky. It was a book I long awaited, and one that shone brighter than I ever anticipated. And now I enter a new stage in my relationship with this series: the  I THINK I’M GOING TO DIE THIS IS SO GOOD. Suffice it to say, Through The Ever Night lived up to the extraordinary potential of Veronica Rossi, zapping me back into her dangerously beautiful world, playing puppeteer to my every emotion; suspense exerting it’s full magnetic pull on my body as it inched my butt closer and closer to the edge of my seat so that I nearly toppled off as arrows flew and hearts broke and aether came screaming down with no hint of mercy.

Aria and Perry don’t spend as much time together as they do apart, but this is far from being a flaw. Theirs is not an unhealthy, co-dependent relationship but two strong individuals sharing a deep love. A sinister edge of doubt does creep in during that absence, but overall their mess of feelings is still so potent, you don’t need to be a Scire to scent it. Most all characters show notable growth, some subtle, others huge. Perry discovers exactly what it is to embody the role he’s long sought after; it’s one thing to take the title and chain of Blood Lord, but another to make it yours, skin and bone and mind and heart deep. He faces many complications, from the scarily unpredictable aether destroying his land, to an equally unpredictable tribe at times, but those stones beneath his feet are a necessity in his evolution. Even if there were a few moments of I WILL CLUB YOU OVER THE HEAD IF YOU DO THAT, PERRY. I still fiercely love him!

Much to my delight, Roar stamps his smooth, witty persona on more pages than in the previous book. Hilarious, teasing, yet sweet as ever, it makes it all the more unbearable to play onlooker when he endures pain. You just want to shred through the pages and hold him close and promise everything will be better tomorrow even though you know it won’t. Most of his and Aria’s time is spent together, searching for way to free Liv and Talon and find the Still Blue, and this is one of my favourite parts of the book. Rarely do we see such a beautiful relationship develop between a male and female that is purely platonic, without the guy being gay. I love Veronica for showing that a girl and a guy can love each other without knotting tongues and legs!

Rossi is inhumanely good at writing heartache… and action and romance and conflict and setting and danger and beauty and humour and let’s be honest here, one day we’re going to tell our grandkids that we were the first devout followers of the story goddess, Veronica Rossi, and they will look up at us with their eyes wide in awe because holy shit, Grandma, VERONICA ROSSI, asskicking queen of the bestseller lists who we pledge our souls to on bended knee every night?! (Through the Ever Night debuted on TWO bestseller lists. She’s taking over the WORLD).

If have yet to discover why so many of us are ripping out our hearts and mailing them in sacrifice for the next book (hell, just the next chapter!), then please do yourself a favour and acquire Under the Never Sky immediately. You won’t be disappointed, and awaiting you is a sequel exploding with passion; rising higher atop the solid foundation it’s predecessor built, suffering none of that wretched middle-book syndrome; rather it’s in shockingly brilliant health. A story that exhales life with every smile and stroke of skin, every painful revelation and fist swung, every love lost and found, and every boulder these characters must climb. It’s because of this richness that you’re left with no doubt in mind that come the next instalment, you’ll be left soaring even higher beneath a beautiful still blue sky.

Buy it here:

Paperback/Hardcover: amazon.co.uk

Kindle Edition: amazon.co.uk

Also see: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

5 comments

  1. Carolee Croft · September 15

    Wow, what a beautiful description of the novel! I totally I agree, the friendship between Aria and Roar is brought to life with such skill, and it’s not something you commonly see in romances, the heroine having such a strong friendship with another man. Glad you enjoyed the next installment!

    Like

    • novellover97 · September 15

      thanks Carolee I started the last book today and I’m loving it so far

      Like

  2. TeacherofYA · September 15

    Omg I love this series and recommend it to everyone…this cover is so much more beautiful than the US cover! Super jealous over here!

    Like

    • novellover97 · September 15

      I know they are lush covers. I am reading the final book right now and I don’t want it to end will definitely be reading more from Veronica Rossi

      Like

  3. Pingback: Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi | forthenovellovers

Leave a Reply

