Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Book Review619vNc025VL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: Their fractured light

Author: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Genre: YA/Fantasy/Romance

Rating: *****

Review: Wow! What an amazing series conclusion Their Fractured Light was! It’s always a bittersweet experience reading and reviewing the final book in a series, especially if it’s one that’s as phenomenal as this one was. If you haven’t read this intergalactic romance series yet, then read it, because you’re missing out on an action-packed, thrilling and romantic experience.

What I love about this series is how it’s a companion series, so each book features different couples but the other couples from the previous series also appear as secondary characters. In Their Fractured Light, we’re introduced to Sophia and Gideon, both characters with revenge on their mind for what LaRoux Industries did to their family members. This writing duo is talented at penning characters that are unique and come to life. Both Sophia and Gideon were very well-fleshed out characters, he a hacker and she a manipulator who uses her beauty to get things done.

They were both shrouded in mysteries and secrets, and slowly throughout the story revelations were made that made me form a stronger bond with them. Sophia and Gideon were fiercely independent, strong and devoted to their tasks. They were also battling with a lot of grief having lost members of their family. It’s heartbreaking watching them juggle with everything, but I was also proud of both of them and was rooting for them throughout.

As a couple, they were so cute together. Their relationship wasn’t always the easiest, because there were many secrets between them, but they also had plenty of sweet scenes together. There’s no denying that Sophia and Gideon were a couple with a strong emotional connection and lots of chemistry. The banter between them was adorable and I shipped them so hard. I did personally wish that the romance was a stronger part of the book, but at the same time, the fact that it was low key also made me completely appreciate the romantic moments between them. Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner went all out with the swoons during those times. I actually think Sophia and Gideon might my favorite couple of the series.

The plot in Their Fractured Light was epic in many many ways. All the events from the first two books culminated in this one and I loved how all the story lines all meshed together in the end. The world building was also very much clearer and I felt like I finally got the full picture of this world that theStarbound Trilogy is set in. The whispers especially have been a highlight of this series for me, so finally getting to understand what exactly they were and their motivations was one of my favorite parts of the book. I was pleasantly surprised by how big a role the previous couples played in this one. Tarver and Lilac, especially, went through hell and more in Their Fractured Light. I just loved how throughout it all though, the couples stood by each other, no matter what. It made the romantic in me giddy with happiness.

The stakes were high in Their Fractured Light and part of me was nervous about how the ending would play out. From start to finish, this was an emotionally draining story, one that makes your heart race – I was very invested in it and found myself  flipping through the pages, unable to put the book down, only stopping to get chores done. Even then, I just wanted to go back to the book because I was going through a roller-coaster of emotions .

In the end, I thought Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner crafted a smart, brilliant and just plain enthralling series ending with Their Fractured Light and I bow down to them for ending the book the way they did – I sincerely hope they co-write more books in the future. I can safely say that the Starbound Trilogy was out of this world (pun intended!).

Buy it here:

Hardcover: www.amazon.com

Audio Download: www.amazon.com

Also see: These Broken Stars

This Shattered World

Leave a Reply

