A Damsel in Distress by P. G. Wodehouse

Book Reviewdamsel_final.jpg

Title: A Damsel in Distress

Author: P.G. Wodehouse

Genre: Humour/Romance/Drama

Rating: ***

Review: This is an entertaining romp, a romantic farce, and although the opening of the book doesn’t really do much to capture the reader’s attention but I don’t think there is excessive danger in anybody tossing P.G. Wodehouse aside in favour of a more modern novel.

A Damsel in Distress is very funny and the funniest thing I’ve read in a long time. I laughed so hard throughout, it renewed my faith in the pleasures of reading. Sometimes, reading can get to be a chore, and this book was just a light, fun read to distract me from my ever growing TBR or to be read pile.

A Damsel in Distress at its core is Wodehouse having a bit of fun with the concept of chivalry in the dawn of the jazz age, he also makes jokes at the expense of the fading aristocracy. Most of the story takes place at Belpher Castle, where Lord Marshmoreton resides with his son, daughter, sister, sister’s step-son, his secretary and many servants.

Although Lady Caroline Byng, who is running the show. It is her darling wish that Lord Marshmoreton’s daughter, Lady Maud Marsh, marry her step-son, Reginald Byng. It’s not a bad plan, except that Maud loves a man she met a year ago in Switzerland and Reggie loves the secretary and it is beginning to affect his golf swing, which worries him.

The family is trying to keep Maud away from the man by keeping her at the castle, but she sneaks up to London one day, with the help of Reggie, and unfortunately runs into her brother, Percy. In an effort to escape him, she hops into a random taxicab and encounters George Bevan, a songwriter. It is love at first sight for him. All his chivalrous nature is awakened and he even knocks Percy’s hat off his head in an effort to keep him from discovering Maud in the cab.

I loved the humour and the inside out kind of view on family relationship and their individual romantic relationship. Although I don’t normally read classic novels as I tend to get bored easily by them I actually read all of A Damsel in Distress, unfortunately for me it just affirmed my dislike of classics, therefore I won’t be reading it again but I do encourage you to read it as it a great book in its own right.

I also found in the version sent to me by the publisher that the illustrations were a great additions and just highlighted and solidified some amazing points in the novel. The illustrations also distract you in a way from the language and slightly out-dated style of the novel, so it’s a way of keeping you reading, breaking the book up into smaller more manageable parts, which really helped me to actually finish the novel.

Over all this is a series of misadventures, mistaken identities, and some upstairs-downstairs intriguing follows. It’s funny, charming, and a quick read with the requisite happy ending all around. I highly urge readers who like classics or read a lot of classics to pick this up if you haven’t already done so, but purely because of my personal taste and reading preferences I only gave this book 3 stars.

This book was sent to me by Black Scat Books

Buy it here:

Paperback/Hardcover: www.amazon.com

Kindle Edition: www.amazon.com

Leave a Reply

