Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Book reviewattachments

Title: attachments

Author: rainbow rowell

Genre: romance/ slice of life/friendship

Rating: *****

Review: I loved Eleanor and Park so, so much, I knew, even before I finished it, that I would read every book written by Rainbow Rowell from that point on. Attachments, Rowell’s first book, was next, and although it’s adult romance and not something I normally read, I just had to. And… wow. Simply amazing! I would normally give a summary of what a book is about, but the blurb does a pretty good job, so I’ll just jump right into it. Attachments is such a fantastic book! It’s funny and heart-warming, and just a beautiful, beautiful read.

Attachments is set in a newspaper office in 1999, Beth is a movie critic and Lincoln works in IT.. As well as reading emails for rule-breaking, Lincoln is also helping out preparing everything in case the Millennium Bug causes all computers to die. I studied Journalism at uni, my Dad works in IT and had to deal deal with the Y2K stuff himself. So I got this book. Despite everything being explained, I knew what a headache Y2K IT work was, and I know what a copy-editor, for example, is. Simply because I knew what I was reading about made this book so much more credible to me. However, no-one should be put off by the idea of journalistic terms or talk of computer work – none of it is all that heavy, and through the story, you find out what everything means. And none of it is the real focus of the story. The focus is Lincoln, Beth and Jennifer.

Attachments follows the life of Lincoln, a shy, socially awkward 28-year-old who hasn’t had a girlfriend since he was dumped by his high school girlfriend at 19. He’s never really got over the heartbreak, and dealt with it by continually going back to college, for another degree, another masters. Working in IT at The Courier is his first job out of school, and has moved back home to his mother’s – as he was always living in dorms before. His older sister Eve is constantly on at him to move out and get himself a proper life; living at home with your mum, sleeping all day and working all night is not a life. In some ways, he agrees. Lincoln doesn’t really know too many people any more, and is a little bored with his life. Reading the emails between Jennifer and Beth are a distraction from spending hours behind a desk with no real work to do, and only his thoughts.

Attachments is cute. It’s why I wanted to pick it up and it’s why I kept on reading, but it also offers so much more than that. Rainbow Rowell is an impressive writer who immerses herself in every character she creates and in every experience she makes them go through. In Fangirl, Cath is a realistic character, struggling with social anxiety in college, seeking refuge her fanfiction. And in Attachments, I felt like I’d been transported back to the 90s. I often forgot that it was only written a few years ago. And then there’s the authentic, likeable characters! Lincoln is who every teenager reading Fangirl would want to be reading about in ten years. Cute, geeky, lovely, but his story isn’t easy and sadness frequents Attachments as much as the cute romance. Lincoln happens to hate his job, he still lives at home with his mother, his Dungeons & Dragons-playing friends all have families… He wants out, but leaving Beth, and her emails, is difficult to contemplate.

Buy it here:

Paperback/Hardback:http://www.amazon.co.uk/Attachments-Rainbow-Rowell/dp/1409120538/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457715798&sr=8-1&keywords=attachments+rainbow+rowell

Kindle Edition:http://www.amazon.co.uk/Attachments-Rainbow-Rowell-ebook/dp/B004UFTY9E/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1457715798&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

